Going Back To University

Hi everyone,

Today I thought I would do a slightly different post to the type I usually do. I have just moved into the house where I will be spending the majority of the next 8 months, as my second year of university is about to start. I wanted to tell you all about the process of moving away from home and my university course.

Moving away from home is a big decision. It can be stressful and lonely (even in a house of 7 people), but it’s also incredibly exciting. This is my second year living away from home, so I am not quite as anxious as I was this time last year. I live in Birmingham and I am attending Coventry University, so my home is not particularly far away from my university. Despite this, I have decided to live in Coventry, mainly because the commute every day would completely exhaust me. I also wanted the experience of living away from home and becoming more independent. I love being able to cook and eat anything I choose (although I’m sure my flat mates would testify to the fact that I can’t cook anything more than chips).

One of the things I was most looking forward to about leaving home was being able to decorate my new bedroom. I’m sure if any of you know me or have read my blog before then you will know that I love Old Hollywood films and musical theatre. I have been collecting a stash of photographs and posters for months in preparation for decorating my new room, and I love the finished product!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The name of my course is English BA (Hons). Unlike most universities, it does not focus solely on language or literature, it is a combination of both. During the first year all the modules we studied were compulsory, however this year some of the modules are optional. Therefore we can chose deviate into language or literature, or carry on studying a combination of both. This was one of the things that first attracted me to the course, as I wasn’t completely sure which element I would prefer studying, or which I would be strongest at. After my experience of studying both last year, I have decided to study mainly literature this year, as I feel more confident with that aspect of the course. I am a little apprehensive about starting this year, as I know the work load is going to increase significantly from last year. Despite this, I am very excited to see what opportunities the next year throws at me and I am going to give it everything I have.

Thank you so much for reading!

Leave a Reply

