Fall Activities Book Tag

Hello everyone,

My lovely friend Melissa has tagged me to do a book tag. She has a brilliant blog, which you can find here. I’ve had so much fun putting this list together and I hope you enjoy reading it!


Apple Picking

A book that looks so delicious, you can’t wait to take a bite out of it

 

Breakfast at Tiffany’s, by Truman Capote. I’ve had this book on my shelf for a while now but I haven’t yet got around to reading it (despite being less than 100 pages long). I love the cover of this edition, it’s so colourful and quirky.

breakfast-at-tiffanys

Corn Maze

A book that’s fun to get lost in

carol

Carol, by Patricia Highsmith (originally published as The Price of Salt). This is a beautiful story set in the 1950s in which two women fall in love. The story follows their relationship and the difficulties they endured to be together. This book is exquisitely written and very difficult to put down.

 

Haunted House

A book that scared you silly

james-herbert

The Secret of Crickley Hall, by James Herbert. This book is one of the many horror stories James Herbert is famed for writing. I discovered it after watching a TV adaptation quite a few years ago. Whilst I loved the TV adaptation, I found the book too scary to read (especially at night time). After 100 pages I abandoned it, although if I went back to it now I might be brave enough to read the rest.

 

Pumpkin Patch

The last book you picked up (purchased)

 

In Such Good Company, by Carol Burnett. Carol Burnett is a true icon of American comedy, and has released 3 other memoirs prior to this one. I have read all of them and enjoyed them all immensely. This particular one focuses on the 11 years she spent starring in her own variety show, The Carol Burnett Show. I have almost finished reading it and I really don’t want it to end.

carol-burnett

Scenic Drives

A book that is lyrically beautiful

sense-and-sensibility

Sense and Sensibility, by Jane Austen. Sense and Sensibility is definitely my favourite Austen novel. Her writing is so indescribably beautiful, and I love her dry wit and sarcasm. At the moment I am studying Mansfield Park for my university course, but I definitely prefer the story line of Sense and Sensibility.

 

Pumpkin Carving

A book you wouldn’t mind carving up

christina-crawford

Mommie Dearest, by Christina Crawford. There is a lot of controversy surrounding this book. It was the first Hollywood tell-all book, published by Joan Crawford’s daughter Christina. Christina paints her mother, one of the biggest and most loved movie stars of all time, as a tyrannical child abuser. Whether Christina’s claims are true or not has been disputed ever since the book was published, and even Christina herself has admitted that there are parts which are exaggerated. However, even if her claims have no truth value at all, this book completely destroyed Joan Crawford’s reputation. Therefore, I would have no problem carving it up.

 

Drinking Apple Cider

A sweet book to curl up under the covers with

 

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, by Lewis Carroll. I have always loved this book, as it is a great example of children’s literature which can also be enjoyed by adults. The story is so intricate, and at times does not make any sense at all (except from the perspective of a child). I have re-read this book so many times, and I never get tired of it.

alice

Jumping in a Leaf Pile

A book that reminds you of your childhood

mnls

My Naughty Little Sister, by Dorothy Edwards. Whilst looking through some old books recently, I found a very old and battered copy of this book, which my Granny used to read to me every night whenever I would sleep over at my grandparents’ house. It bought back so many lovely memories for me!

 

Scary Movie Night

Your favourite spooky story

elizabeth-gaskell

The Old Nurse’s Story, by Elizabeth Gaskell. I first read this story a little less than a year ago, as I had to study it in my first year of university. It’s not a particularly long story, but its effect is so chilling. I really enjoyed reading it, as it didn’t scare me quite as much as The Secret of Crickley Hall.


 

I tag Paula, one of the members of the Coventry University Literature Society. If anyone else would like to take part please feel free, and I would love it if you would send me a link to your tag!

Thank you so much for reading!

 

 

Leave a Reply

