The Sunshine Blogger Award

Hello everyone,

Today I am going to do the Sunshine Blogger Award tag. I would like to thank Melissa at The Book Worm’s Fantasy for tagging me to do this! You can find her tag here. I have participated in one tag before and I absolutely loved doing it, so I am really excited to be doing another one!


1) What’s the next book on your TBR?

I have had a copy of Wicked by Gregory Maguire for almost a year and I still haven’t gotten around to reading it. I absolutely love the West End musical adaptation and the story is so unique, so I am really looking forward to reading it. As I am studying English at university, I have a lot of required reading and do not have a lot of time to read texts I actually want to read. But when I do have the chance I will definitely be reading Wicked. I think it will be really interesting to be able to compare the book and the musical.

wicked

 

2) What’s your favourite snack to eat whilst reading?

I don’t usually eat whilst reading as I find it quite distracting, but if I do eat anything it’s usually fruit (grapes or raspberries)… or sometimes bourbons!

3) How do you organise your books?

I have two separate shelves for my books. On the top shelf I keep all my paperback books which are usually fiction (To Kill A Mockingbird, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, The Handmaid’s Tale etc). The bottom shelf is where I keep all the autobiographies I have read, which are all hardback. They can be incredibly difficult to find as they are usually first editions and therefore quite rare. My favourite ones are Lauren Bacall’s memoir ‘By Myself and Then Some’ (my review of which you can find here) and a signed copy of Elaine Paige’s autobiography ‘Memories’. I think I’ll need to expand my storage space soon though, as I keep buying books without realising that I’m running out of space to keep them!

4) Do you tend to read more books written by female or male authors?

I don’t think I consciously do this, but I tend to read more books written by female author’s. When it comes to fiction, I prefer to read novels with a female protagonist. A few of my favourite books are Carol (originally published as The Price of Salt) by Patricia Highsmith, and Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen – both of which have female protagonists and female authors.

carol

 

5) Are there any genres you don’t read at all?

I can’t think of any genres I really don’t like and therefore don’t read. Within my university course we are required to read a wide range of texts and sadly I don’t get to decide whether I read them or not! Even if there are some texts I don’t like (which does happen, but not too frequently), I wouldn’t rule out the whole genre because of that.

6) What’s your favourite book to movie adaptation?

One of the most famous movies of all time is Gone With The Wind. It was released in 1939 and still to this day is the highest grossing film of all time (adjusted for inflation). It made an overnight star of Vivien Leigh, and her performance as Scarlett O’Hara earned her her first Academy Award nomination and win. I haven’t read Margaret Mitchell’s novel all the way through (it’s over 1000 pages long!), but a film that was released over seventy five years ago and still manages to keep you engaged for four hours must be doing something right!

gwtw

7) What was your most recent book disappointment?

As I have mentioned, I am studying English at university and so I don’t get a lot of time to read texts I really want to read. I do enjoy most of the texts I am required to read for my course, but there have been some which do not interest me. Either that or we have studied them to the point that I am fed up of them!

8) Where do you usually buy your books from?

Depending on what it is, I usually use Amazon or eBay. If a book I want to buy is rare then it’s usually easier to find (and cheaper) on eBay, even if it’s a second hand copy. As long as it’s not falling apart I don’t have any problem with buying second hand books. I occasionally use book shops like Waterstones if I need the book immediately, but I usually manage to find the exact same editions elsewhere, and a lot cheaper.

9) Which book are you most excited for that isn’t released yet?

I am really looking forward to reading Tippi Hedren’s autobiography ‘Tippi: A Memoir’, which was actually released last month. However I have asked for it as a Christmas present, so I won’t be able to read it until then! Tippi Hedren is an actress, most famed for her performances in the Alfred Hitchcock thrillers ‘The Birds’ and ‘Marnie’. I can’t wait to read her memoir as I’m sure she has a lot of interesting stories to tell.

tippi

10) Do any of your friends or family share your passion for reading?

I don’t think any of my family read quite as much as I do, although I do know my grandparents tend read a lot. However a lot of my friends (especially those on my course) love reading. One of my best friends can power through books twice as quick as I can – I really don’t know how she does it!

11) What are the top 5 things you look for in a book?

I think the main things I look for in a book are relatable characters, an interesting storyline, eloquence, a well-respected author, and something which is related to my interests. That might by why I read so many autobiographies, as they tend to give me a lot of information about something I have a great interest in.


Thank you so much for reading, I hope you’ve enjoyed this tag!

I tag anyone else who wants to answer the questions and join in the tag.

Leave a Reply

